The Obra do Berço project under the coordination of Oscar Niemeyer, as far as is known, went through four stages. The first consists of a preliminary unpublished study, from the period 1935/36, of a building composed of two volumes (fig.1): one cubic in shape with two floors facing the Lagoon and the other in an “L” shape. ground floor. The latter was initially built to house outpatient care activities and the distribution of milk and trousseaus for babies. The study for the prismatic volume resulted in a building placed directly on the ground with only two free cylindrical pillars on the face facing the Lagoon, constituting a setback to mark the main entrance. The side façade would have two openings with brises which, although only sketched in the drawing, approximate the brises later placed on the front façade.
This project presents us with a Niemeyer very close to Lucio Costa's “homeless houses”. He also has an affinity with his contemporary avant-garde colleagues regarding the adoption of architectural expression resulting from the use of concrete structures independent of the masonry and the option for an aesthetic that privileges simple geometric shapes and the absence of ornaments. According to Segre and Barki (2008), the architect acquired experience at the Costa office, where he was an intern and worked at that time:
Niemeyer learned there to also differentiate the traits and representations of the two Masters, from which it sought its own graphic language, in a process of decantation throughout the sequence of projects carried out between 1934 and 1937, until the construction of its first building, the Obra do Berço (SEGRE BARKI, 2008, p .7).